Bullocky's Rest Park was originally used as a camp for bullock teams hauling timber from Cooyar to Toowoomba due to the availability of a fresh water supply. A steam pump, located at the Pump Hole, provided water to the Butter Factory in Creek Street, which operated from 1905 to 1969. Local mixed farms provided cream to the Butter Factory with the remaining buttermilk piped down Three Mile Road and fed to pigs.
Hartmann Park was donated to Council in the 1970s by Mr Hubert Hartmann. In 1992, the former Crows Nest Shire Council developed the Applegum Walk as a job skills project to connect points of local interest - Bullocky's Rest Park, the Waterbird Habitat and Hartmann Park.
The Waterbird Habitat was developed by the former Crows Nest Shire Council in 1994 with the construction of two low weirs and associated revegetation. Applegum Walk and Hartmann Park Circuit are located in largely undisturbed bushland exhibiting a range of geological, vegetative and historical features within the town area.
Bullocky's Rest Park links Applegum Walk to Hartmann Park and features a range of picnic facilities ideally situated beside Crow's Nest Creek. A replica bullock team is also a feature of the park.
Crows Nest Folk Museum and Village boasts its very own historic village. A very significant building is 'Carbethon House' built in the 1880s and moved to Crows Nest in 1978 which marked the beginning of the collection of now 21 buildings that make up the village. Being the birthplace of Ray White, it has the original business building on the grounds and also the beautiful old home of Alan White is on display as well.
Address: Thallon Street / New England Hwy, Crows Nest QLD
Thursday to Sunday and public holidays - 10am to 3pm. Groups on other days available by appointment.
Closed Good Friday, Christmas day and Boxing Day.
Highfields Pioneer Village
Our unique and idyllic little patch of Australian history has a series of gorgeous and stunning relics into the past, which have been kept in a perfect condition for years. Learn about and explore the:
Heritage Chapel - built in 1909 is available for weddings and christenings of all denominations.
Southern Cross Museum featuring products made by the Toowoomba Foundry including the Southern Cross Windmills.
Transport Museum featuring vehicles from a bygone era and the James Macdonald Cycle Collection including Dandy horses, velocipedes, safety bicycles and penny farthings.
Toowoomba Fire Brigade Museum houses an historic collection of memorabilia, documenting the story of the people who have worked every day to keep us safe from fires since 1877.
Ambulance Museum telling the story of Ambulance Services in Queensland including first aid equipment from WWI.
Village Silversmith combining modern ways with old school jewellery making techniques.
The Toyshop featuring handmade kinetic wooden pioneer toys.
Slab Cottage - see what life was like for the Pioneers as you wander through this faithfully restored slab cottage built in 1900.
Authentic damper and billy tea available everyday! Bookings required for groups of over 10 people
The Munro Shay Loco is on display on the corner of The Hampton/Esk Road and National Park Road, about 14 kilometres east of Hampton. The loco has been lovingly restored by members of the Munro Tramway Historical Group, and is one of only three restored models in Australia. The loco was one of two imported by A & D Munro in 1904 and 1908 to haul timber from the forest to their mill at Palmtree and the sawn timber to the Hampton station for loading to the main train to Toowoomba.
The tramway bench is still visible in many areas, and makes for some interesting walks, the most notable being an extension of the Great Short walk from Perseverance reserve to the well higher up the range. Perseverance reserve can be reached by taking Perseverance Hall Road off the highway, and then turning right after you reach the junction with Palmtree Road. You will see some signage and a car parking area. A brochure is under development and will soon be available from the Hampton Visitor Information Centre, showing both the various walks and a drive route.
Muntapa Tunnel is 287m in length making it Queensland's longest straight railway tunnel. Located 640m above sea level, it's the only tunnel that crossed between the inland and coastal sides of the Great Dividing Range, and the only one that crossed the Range summit.
While access through the tunnel is not permitted, to protect an existing colony of bent winged bats, visitors can explore 30m into the space.
Muntapa Tunnel is a unique and secluded tunnel that makes for a great sightseeing experience with interpretive signage revealing its interesting history.
Now closed, the line was originally constructed to support small-scale agriculture in the area and to provide access to timber reserves at Blackbutt and Nanango.
It was situated on the branch line that opened from Oakey to Cooyar in 1913 and closed in 1964. Muntapa Tunnel serves as a reminder of the region's pioneering days and the important role railways played in developing the area.
Muntapa Tunnel was listed on the Queensland Heritage Register on 3 May 2007 having satisfied the following criteria:
the place is important in demonstrating the evolution or pattern of Queensland's history;
the place demonstrates rare, uncommon or endangered aspects of Queensland's cultural heritage;
the place is important in demonstrating the principal characteristics of a particular class of cultural places; and
the place is important because of its aesthetic significance.
Address: Muntapa Park, Narko QLD
How to get there: The tunnel is located about 40km north of Oakey or 16Km south-west of Cooya. The access road (Narko Nutgrove Rd) is unsealed.